In the state of Missouri, drivers are required to have car insurance in order to operate a vehicle. There are a few different types of coverage that are required by law, and drivers can choose to add additional coverage as well. Keep reading to learn more about Missouri auto insurance.
Why should you get auto insurance in Missouri?
There are many reasons to get Missouri home and car insurance, but some of the most important reasons are to ensure that you and your car are protected from damage or liability. Auto insurance can help to cover the costs of damages to your car, as well as injuries to you and your passengers. In addition, an insurance company can help you to avoid costly fines and legal fees in the event of a car accident. Having insurance in the U.S. is just one way to ensure can also help to protect you from collisions with uninsured or underinsured drivers. If you are in an accident with an uninsured driver, your insurance company may help to cover the costs of damages to your car.
What types of car insurance are available in Missouri?
There are several types of car insurance available in Missouri. The most common type is liability insurance, which covers the driver for injuries to other people and damage to their property. Property damage liability coverage pays for damages to someone else’s car, while bodily injury liability coverage pays for the driver’s medical expenses and any legal expenses if they are sued. Another common type of car insurance is underinsured or uninsured motorist coverage, which protects the driver in case they are injured by an uninsured or underinsured driver. Collision coverage pays for damages to the driver’s car caused by a collision, while comprehensive coverage pays for damages to the driver’s car caused by anything other than a collision, such as fire or theft. Some drivers may also choose to buy personal injury protection (PIP) or medical payments (MedPay) coverage, which pay for the driver’s medical expenses regardless of who is at fault in an accident. Finally, some drivers may choose to purchase a rental car policy or road service policy in addition to their regular car insurance policy.
Are there requirements for auto insurance in Missouri?
Missouri car insurance law requires drivers to have liability coverage of $25,000 per person or $50,000 per accident for bodily injury and $10,000 for property damage. The state also requires uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. Drivers may choose to purchase additional coverage.
Can you get discounts for Missouri car insurance?
Online comparison shopping websites offer a variety of discounts for car insurance, which can help drivers save money on their premiums. Some of these discounts include a good driver discount. This discount is available to drivers who have not been convicted of a traffic violation in the past three years and have a clean driving record. You can also get a multi-car discount which is available to drivers who insure more than one vehicle with the same company. The safe driver discount is for drivers who have not been involved in any accidents or violations in the past three years. And the senior citizen discount is for drivers over the age of 55.
How do you choose the right car insurance policy?
It’s important to choose the right policy based on your needs and budget. Liability is the most basic type of policy and is the cheapest, but it doesn’t offer much protection for your vehicle. Comprehensive and collision are more expensive, but they offer more protection. You should also consider how much coverage you need. When choosing a policy, it’s important to compare rates from different insurers.
Overall, Missouri car insurance is very important. It can help protect you financially if you are in a car accident and it is also required by law. Make sure you are familiar with the requirements in your state and shop around for the best rates online.